Assembly Republicans unanimously choose Bramnick as Leader

Jon Bramnick was unanimously elected by Assembly Republicans on Thursday to continue as minority leader.

“I am honored my colleagues have entrusted me to continue leading the fight against Governor Murphy’s new taxes and more spending,” said Bramnick (R-Union). “We need to come together on a plan to make New Jersey a better place for our taxpayers, families and seniors while standing up against bad policies that will hurt our economy and residents.”

The caucus also elected to elevate Nancy Munoz (R-Union) and John DiMaio (R-Warren) to serve as conference leaders. Newly elected to join the senior leadership team are Ned Thomson (R-Monmouth) as whip, which was formerly held by Munoz, and Hal Wirths (R-Sussex) to replace DiMaio as budget officer.

The leadership team was nominated by Assemblyman Ronald Dancer (R-Ocean) and was seconded by Assemblyman Ryan Peters (R-Burlington).

Joining their first caucus were newly elected members Brian Bergen (R-Morris), John Catalano (R-Ocean), Antwan McClellan (R-Cape May), Gerry Scharfenberger (R-Monmouth), Erik Simonsen (R-Cape May) and Jean Stanfield (R-Burlington).

Heading into the next legislative session, Assembly Republicans will increase its membership to at least 28 members.